Home Politics Only a few minutes after Brexit, Scotland made it clear!
Only a few minutes after Brexit, Scotland made it clear!

Only a few minutes after Brexit, Scotland made it clear!

by YCPress

“Europe, Scotland will come back soon.” According to Russia Today (RT), on December 31, 2020, local time, just a few minutes after the entry into force of the future relationship agreement between the United Kingdom and the European Union, the Scottish Government’s Chief Minister Nicola Sturgeon tweeted that Scotland would rejoin the EU “soon”.

Sturgeon tweeted: “Europe, Scotland will be back soon. Keep the light on. Sturgeon also accompanied a picture of Scottish lights outside the European Commission headquarters building in Brussels, Belgium.

At 23:00 GMT on December 31, 2020 (24:00 CET on December 31, the United Kingdom officially ended its “Brexit” transition period and officially left the European Common Market.

The UK-European Trade and Cooperation Agreement reached on December 24, 2020 has been provisionally implemented.

In the 2016 “Brexit” referendum, the United Kingdom chose to leave the European Union. After difficult negotiations, the two sides agreed that the United Kingdom officially left the European Union on January 31, 2020, but established a transition period until December 31, 2020.

Britain and Europe hope to negotiate future relations and trade arrangements between Britain and Europe during this transition period, and finally reach an agreement on the evening of December 24, 2020.

Regarding Sturgeon’s statement, Scotland’s attitude to the issue of “Brexit” has to be mentioned. According to previous reports, analysts said that part of the “Brexit” agreement has aroused dissatisfaction within the UK, especially in Scotland, and may aggravate the region’s tendency to independence to some extent.

After the announcement of the Anglo-European agreement, Sturgeon said that no agreement could compensate for the losses caused by Brexit to Scotland. “It is time to plan our future as an independent European country”.