Home Politics Prime Minister of Armenia declares responsibility for defeat in Naka conflict
Armenian special police began to arrest demonstrators who blocked government buildings.

Prime Minister of Armenia declares responsibility for defeat in Naka conflict

by YCPress

Armenian Prime Minister Nicole Pashinyan admitted on the 18th local time that he was responsible for the country’s defeat in the Naka conflict and announced 15 action plans to ensure national stability.

According to a report by Al Jazeera on the 18th, Pashinyan stated on social media that day that he had made up his mind to take full responsibility for everything that happened and that he was responsible for stabilizing the situation in Armenia and ensuring national security. 

In response, he also listed 15 action plans, including resuming the formal negotiation process on the Naka region under the framework of the Minsk Group under the OSCE; prioritizing the return of people to areas controlled by the Armenians and helping the people Rebuild homes, repair infrastructure, and provide financial assistance to the families of soldiers killed in conflict.

Pashinyan said, “In June 2021, I will draw up a report based on the above action plan, and will take public opinions and reactions into consideration in future actions.”

The leaders of Russia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan signed a joint statement on the ceasefire in the Naka region on the 9th. Azerbaijan and Azerbaijan will stay in their respective positions.

Azerbaijan can stay in a strategically important place that can actually determine the situation in Naka. Sha, this aroused strong dissatisfaction among the Armenian people.

Armenian Foreign Minister Mnatsakanyan announced his resignation on the 16th. Thousands of Armenian demonstrators protested last week, demanding that Pashinyan resign on the newly reached ceasefire agreement.

Pashinyan refused.

The Naka region is located in southwestern Azerbaijan, and its residents are mostly Armenians. After the disintegration of the Soviet Union, Azerbaijan and Armenia broke out in conflicts for the Naka. 

In 1992, the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (the predecessor of the OSCE) established the Minsk Group consisting of 12 countries, with Russia, the United States and France as co-chairs. 

Since then, negotiations on the Naka issue at different levels have been held within the framework of the Minsk Group, but no substantial progress has been made.