Site icon YCNews

The results of Benin’s presidential election were announced

The results of Benin's presidential election were announced

Talon (right) and Tarata (left) thank supporters for the poster

21 April 2021 Benin’s Constitutional Court officially declared the final results of the presidential elections held on 11 April, in which the current President, Patrice Taron, and the First Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, Mariam Tarata, won the election.

The other two groups of candidates conceded defeat and no one appealed the results.

The new President and Vice-President of the Republic of Benin will take office on 23 May for a five-year term.

The Constitutional Court announced on the 15th that about 4.9 million registered voters registered for the presidential election on April 11th, with a turnout of 50.63 percent.

The Taron-Tarata combination received 86.30 per cent of the vote in the first round of voting. The other two groups of candidates, Jimba Wimpey and Cohue Agoza, received 11.37 per cent and 2.34 per cent of the vote, respectively.

Exit mobile version