Site icon YCNews

Sudan announces 25 members of the new cabinet

Sudan announces 25 members of the new cabinet

South Sudan's ex-vice President and former rebel leader Riek Machar flanked by President Salva Kiir Mayardit address a news conference at the State House in Juba, South Sudan February 20, 2020. REUTERS/Jok Solomun

On the evening of the February 8th, local time, Prime Minister Hamduk of the Transitional Government of Sudan announced the list of 25 ministers of the new government cabinet in the capital Khartoum.

At present, only the candidates for the Minister of Education have yet to be determined.

Hamduk said that the cabinet was reorganized to implement the final peace agreement signed between the Transitional Government and the anti-government forces.

According to the agreement, anti-government armed members will participate in the transitional national governance structure, including the Sovereign Council, Parliament and the government cabinet.

On the 4th, the Sudan Transitional Sovereignty Commission added three new members.

Hamduk said that the primary goal of the new government is to overcome the economic crisis, advance the peace process, and carry out institutional reform of civilian and military institutions.

Exit mobile version