Site icon YCNews

Russia: Oppose restrictions on any privileges of the five permanent members of the Security Council, including a veto

Russia: Oppose restrictions on any privileges of the five permanent members of the Security Council, including a veto

United Nations Security Council Chamber. (Associated Press)

November 17th. Russia’s Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Anna Evstigneyeva, said in a speech at the UN General Assembly that Russia opposes any idea that would violate the privileges of the five permanent members of the UN Security Council. Including a veto.

According to news from the TASS news agency on the 17th, Yevstigneeva emphasized: “For us, any idea of ​​restricting the power of permanent members of the Security Council is unacceptable, including the veto.” She recalled that the use of the veto or the threat of use More than once, the veto has allowed the United Nations to “free from participating in dubious adventures”.

The diplomat also pointed out that Moscow hopes that the Security Council will play a more representative role in developing countries such as Africa, Asia and Latin America. Yevstigneeva said: “Our position is well known. As one of the permanent members of the Security Council, Russia believes that it is necessary to make the institution more representative, first of all relying on developing countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America.” She pointed out that Moscow It agrees to correct historical injustices to Africa. The seat of African countries on the Security Council is neither in conformity with the role of Africa in international affairs today, nor in the total number of African countries.

Yevstigneeva also stated: “Efforts to expand the Security Council should not affect its ability to respond effectively and quickly to emerging challenges. Under these circumstances, we call for the compactness of the Security Council. The maximum possible number of members should not exceed 20.”

The Security Council is a permanent body of the United Nations and bears the main responsibility for maintaining world peace and security. There are 15 members in total, including 5 permanent members and 10 non-permanent members. Russia, the United States, the United Kingdom, China, and France are permanent members and have a veto power to make the mandatory resolutions of the Security Council reach “unanimous powers”. The ten non-permanent members have a two-year term and do not have veto power. (Overseas Net Hou Xingchuan)

Exit mobile version